How Internationally Trained Social Workers Get Licensed in the US

Credential review, exams, and state rules explained for foreign-trained applicants.

By Melissa CarterReviewed by MSWO TeamUpdated September 11, 202625+ min read
US Social Work Licensure for International Practitioners

Points of interest…

  • CSWE ISWDRES is the credential evaluation most state boards require.
  • Canadian degrees get mutual recognition; UK and Australian degrees do not.
  • Budget one to two semesters for bridging coursework gaps.

Fifty state boards, plus separate boards in DC and the territories, and zero federal social work license: that is the reality every foreign-trained practitioner runs into when they start researching US credentials. A degree from Manila, Mumbai, or Manchester does not transfer automatically; it has to pass through credential evaluation, get matched to either a BSW or MSW , the two levels of social work degrees , satisfy whatever MSW fieldwork supervision rule the target state enforces, and coexist with whatever visa or work authorization status the applicant holds.

None of these five pieces moves on the same timeline, and missing one stalls the rest. This roadmap sets out the 2026 sequence in the order state boards actually check it, not the order a university catalog presents it.

How US Social Work Licensure Works for Foreign-Trained Applicants

A US-born social worker moves through one linear pipeline: accredited degree, state application, licensing exam. A foreign-trained social worker moves through a parallel but longer track: credential evaluation first, then state application, then exam. Same finish line, extra front-end work.

No Federal License, Fifty Different Rulebooks

There is no national social work license in the United States. Because social work license requirements by state vary, every state (plus DC and the territories) has its own licensing board that sets the rules for who can practice as an LBSW, LMSW, LCSW, or the state's equivalent title. What counts as an acceptable foreign degree in New York may not fly in Texas, and Florida may require coursework that California waives. Before you commit to a state, read that specific board's rules for internationally educated applicants. Do not assume reciprocity: a license issued in one state does not automatically transfer to another, and this is doubly true for foreign-trained candidates.

The Three Gatekeepers

Expect to clear three separate approvals, usually in this order:

  • Credential evaluation: An outside agency compares your foreign degree to a US BSW or MSW. For social work specifically, CSWE's International Social Work Degree Recognition and Evaluation Service (ISWDRES), tied to CSWE Accreditation, is the review most boards recognize, though some accept general evaluators like WES.
  • State board application: You submit the evaluation, transcripts, supervised practice documentation, background check, and fees to the state where you plan to work. The board decides exam eligibility and any additional coursework.
  • ASWB licensing exam: Once approved, you sit for the Association of Social Work Boards exam at the level matching your license (Bachelors, Masters, Clinical) using ASWB exam tips.

Plan for Months, Not Weeks

Realistic timelines run six months to eighteen months from starting your credential evaluation to holding a license. ISWDRES review alone can take several months. Add state board processing, exam scheduling, and any required bridge coursework, and a year-plus is normal. Build that runway into your visa, job search, and relocation plans.

Step 1: Credential Evaluation Through CSWE's International Review (ISWDRES)

Every foreign-trained social worker seeking US licensure starts with a credential evaluation, and for most state boards that means the Council on Social Work Education's International Social Work Degree Recognition and Evaluation Service (ISWDRES). This is the social work profession's dedicated review of your degree, and skipping straight to a general foreign-credential evaluator is a common early mistake.

What ISWDRES Is and Who Runs It

ISWDRES is administered by CSWE, the same body responsible for CSWE accreditation of US BSW and MSW programs. Its job is narrow but important: to determine whether your foreign social work degree is equivalent to a CSWE-accredited BSW or MSW. That determination is what most state licensing boards need before they will let you sit for the ASWB exam or apply for a license.

Why ISWDRES, Not Just a NACES Report

Generic course-by-course evaluations from NACES member agencies (WES, ECE, and similar) tell a state board that you hold a degree comparable to a US bachelor's or master's in a general sense. They do not certify that the degree meets CSWE's social work curriculum standards. Because social work licensure is tied to CSWE-accredited education, many boards specifically require the ISWDRES letter, or accept it in place of a NACES report. Always check your target state board's rules before paying for the wrong evaluation.

Application Process, Fees, and Timeline

ISWDRES is a two-step process1:

  • Screening form first: Submit the mandatory screening form with a $35 fee.2 An OSWA staff reviewer, not an automated system, checks it, and results are typically returned within about two weeks.3 Unpaid screening forms are deleted after five business days.1
  • Recognition application second: Only after screening approval can you access the Recognition Application Form. The fee varies by the country where your degree was earned: $170 (Group A), $380 (Group B), or $610 (Group C).1 CSWE does not begin the substantive review until this fee is paid. Additional formal determination letters cost $55 each.1 These fees apply for the 2025-2026 cycle and may change on July 1, 2026.1
  • Determination timeline: Once CSWE has all required documentation, the formal determination letter is generally issued within 45 days.4

What You Receive and How It's Used

The end product is a formal determination letter from CSWE stating whether your degree is recognized as equivalent to a CSWE-accredited BSW or MSW. You (or CSWE, on request) submit that letter directly to the state licensing board handling your application, where it becomes the foundation for every subsequent step: exam eligibility, supervised experience approval, and licensure itself.

Comparing Credential Evaluators: CSWE ISWDRES Vs. NACES Members Vs. WES

Not every credential evaluation carries the same weight with state licensing boards. Some states specifically require a CSWE ISWDRES determination letter for foreign social work degrees, while others accept general academic equivalency reports from any NACES member agency. Before you pay for an evaluation, confirm which type your target state board accepts. The table below breaks down scope, cost, turnaround, and ideal use case for the most common evaluators used by internationally trained social workers.

EvaluatorScope of ReviewTypical Cost (USD)Processing TimeBest For
CSWE ISWDRESProfession-specific recognition review that determines whether a foreign social work degree is comparable to a U.S. CSWE-accredited program; produces a formal determination letter, not a general academic equivalency report.$170 (Group A screening/application), $380 (Group B), or $610 (Group C), plus $35 screening form fee and $55 per additional letterAbout 4 weeks after all documents are received; formal determination letter generally issued within 45 daysForeign-educated social workers seeking U.S. licensure or admission to CSWE-accredited programs where a profession-specific equivalency determination is required
WES (NACES member)General academic credential evaluation for social work licensing, certification, education, or immigration purposes; reports U.S. degree equivalency but does not issue a CSWE-specific social work equivalency determination.$118 to $239 depending on evaluation type (WES Basic vs. WES ICAP and report options); duplicate reports $35 to $58; upgrade from Basic to ICAP during processing costs $53Variable; depends on document verification and evaluation complexity, with no fixed turnaround guaranteeApplicants whose state boards accept general NACES-member evaluations, or those who also need an evaluation for immigration or graduate admissions purposes
IERF (NACES member), Individual Standard ApplicationGeneral academic evaluation reporting U.S. equivalency of foreign credentials; not social work specific. Reports can be tailored for institutional or immigration use.$100 base fee; rush options add $60 (10 business days), $85 (5 business days), or $200 (24-hour turnaround) to the base feeStandard: approximately 15 business days; rush options available at 10 days, 5 days, or 24 hoursIndividuals who need a relatively quick general equivalency report and whose licensing board or employer accepts NACES-member evaluations rather than requiring a CSWE determination
IERF (NACES member), Institutional Immigration ServicesEvaluation reports prepared for institutions assessing foreign credentials for immigration-related processes; oriented to institutional clients.$100 to $235; rush options add $85 (5 business days) or $200 (24-hour turnaround)Standard: approximately 10 business days; rush options at 5 days or 24 hoursInstitutions sponsoring or employing international social workers who need immigration-focused credential verification

BSW Vs. MSW Licensure Pathways for Internationally Trained Social Workers

Two distinct license tiers, not one uniform credential, define the US system: entry-level licensure (often called LBSW or LSW) and graduate-level clinical social work licensure (LMSW or LCSW). Internationally trained applicants need to know which tier their degree and career goals point toward before investing in credential evaluation or exam prep, because the requirements diverge sharply from that point forward.

Entry-Level Licensure Is the Lighter Lift

Applicants whose foreign degree is evaluated as equivalent to a US bachelor's in social work generally face a shorter path to entry-level licensure. Supervised-hour requirements are lower or waived, and the qualifying exam covers generalist practice rather than advanced clinical content. States also tend to be more flexible in accepting coursework transcripts for BSW-level review than for clinical-track applications, since entry-level scopes of practice are narrower and lower-risk.

Clinical Licensure Has No Shortcut

LCSW status is different. Regardless of where the MSW or clinical degree was earned, every state requires a defined period of post-degree supervised clinical experience, logged under a licensed supervisor and documented to that state's board. A foreign-trained clinician cannot substitute prior overseas practice hours for this requirement in most jurisdictions; the supervised experience clock effectively restarts once the applicant is working under a US-recognized supervisor. Add the clinical licensing exam, and the pathway from an approved international degree to LCSW is measured in years, not months.

Macro Roles as an Entry Point

For internationally trained BSW holders who want to begin working sooner, macro social work and non-clinical roles (community organizing, program administration, case management, policy work) are often more accessible than clinical practice. Many of these positions don't require a state clinical license at all, letting a foreign-trained social worker build US work history, professional references, and familiarity with local systems while a graduate degree or clinical hours are still in progress. That practical experience can also strengthen a later application for clinical licensure, since state boards often view documented US-based supervised work favorably when reviewing an otherwise unfamiliar international transcript.

State-By-State Licensure Requirements for International Applicants

Licensure rules for internationally trained social workers differ meaningfully from state to state. The table below summarizes credential evaluation expectations, whether supervised hours earned abroad may count, and key procedural notes for six states that receive a high volume of international applicants. Because policies change, always confirm current requirements directly with the licensing board before you apply.

StateLicensing BoardForeign Degree Evaluation RequiredSupervised Hours From Abroad AcceptedNotes
CaliforniaCalifornia Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS)Yes. Applicants whose MSW was earned outside the U.S. must obtain a comprehensive evaluation from CSWE or a CSWE-approved agency confirming equivalency to a CSWE-accredited program.Not specified in current guidanceThe evaluation must explicitly state that the degree has been assessed for equivalency with CSWE standards. If completed by a CSWE-approved agency, the report must confirm the agency's CSWE-approved status. BBS reserves the right to request additional documentation and makes the final determination.
TexasTexas State Board of Social Worker Examiners (under the Texas Behavioral Health Executive Council)Yes (implied by general equivalency requirement)Generally no. LCSW applicants must complete at least 3,000 hours of supervised clinical practice under a Texas LCSW-Supervisor (LCSW-S), with at least 100 hours of direct supervision over no fewer than 24 months. The default expectation is Texas-based supervision.Supervision must be provided by a board-approved Texas LCSW-S, which effectively means foreign supervised hours do not substitute for the Texas clinical supervision requirement.
New YorkNew York State Board for Social Work (NYSED, Office of the Professions)Yes. For LMSW licensure, a foreign MSW must be determined by NYSED to be substantially equivalent to a CSWE-accredited or licensure-qualifying program. The degree must include at least 60 semester hours and two years of full-time study.Partial, through endorsement. For clinical licensure by endorsement, New York requires evidence that supervised clinical experience qualified the applicant for licensure in another jurisdiction, plus at least 10 years of satisfactory clinical social work experience within the 15 years before application.The foreign degree must come from a college or university recognized by the appropriate civil authorities in its home country. NYSED conducts its own equivalency review rather than delegating entirely to external evaluators.
FloridaFlorida Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, and Mental Health CounselingYes. Applicants who graduated outside the U.S. or Canada must present documentation that their program has been determined equivalent to CSWE-approved programs by CSWE's Foreign Equivalency Determination Service.Not specified in current guidanceUnder Florida Statute 491.005, qualifying social work programs must be CSWE-accredited, accredited by the Canadian Association for Social Work Education, or determined equivalent by CSWE's Foreign Equivalency Determination Service. The foreign program must also be officially recognized by its home country's government. Applicants bear the burden of documenting equivalency.
WashingtonWashington State Department of HealthYes. Applicants with degrees earned outside the U.S., D.C., or U.S. territories must have transcripts translated and evaluated by a NACES-member organization, an AICE-member organization, or CSWE (specifically for social work applicants).Possible through substantial equivalency. Washington offers a process allowing professionals licensed in another state deemed substantially equivalent to obtain Washington credentials without repeating education or exams. Foreign-trained individuals already licensed in a qualifying U.S. state may benefit from this pathway.Under WAC 246-809-096, the evaluating organization must validate that the foreign degree is equivalent to a program approved by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) or the U.S. Department of Education.
IllinoisIllinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR)Yes. Degrees from outside the United States must be evaluated as equivalent to a U.S. social work degree by CSWE's International Social Work Degree Recognition and Evaluation Service (ISWDRES).Yes, conditionally. Under the Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act, an applicant who has been licensed at the independent practice level in another U.S. jurisdiction for five consecutive years without discipline is not required to resubmit proof of supervised clinical experience, effectively accepting their prior hours.Proof of education may take the form of a Certification of Education form, an official transcript, or a letter from CSWE's ISWDRES confirming degree equivalence. Applicants licensed in another U.S. state must also provide certification of licensure from that jurisdiction.

Is a UK, Canadian, or Australian Social Work Degree Recognized in America?

Not all international social work degrees receive the same treatment when you apply for US licensure. Canada is the clear exception: a formal mutual recognition agreement between CSWE and its Canadian counterpart means Canadian graduates face the smoothest path. UK and Australian degree holders, by contrast, must go through an individual evaluation before any state board will consider their credentials. Here is how the three countries compare.

FactorCanada (CASWE Accredited)United KingdomAustralia
Automatic US Recognition?Yes. CASWE accredited BSW and MSW degrees are treated as equivalent to CSWE accredited degrees under a mutual degree recognition agreement.No. CSWE's accreditation authority covers only the US and its territories; no UK programs hold CSWE accreditation.No. Australian programs are not CSWE accredited and are not covered by any automatic recognition agreement.
Credential Evaluation Required?Generally not required for the degree itself, though some state boards may still ask for documentation confirming CASWE accreditation status.Yes. Applicants must submit their degree to CSWE's International Social Work Degree Recognition and Evaluation Service (ISWDRES) for an individual comparability review.Yes. An ISWDRES evaluation is required so CSWE can determine whether the degree is comparable to a US accredited social work degree.
State Licensure StepsGraduates must still meet each state board's own licensure requirements, including exams and supervised practice hours. The Canadian accreditor does not handle US registration.State boards typically require the completed CSWE foreign equivalency report before processing a license application. Exam eligibility, supervised hours, and any coursework gap requirements vary by state.State departments may require submission of the CSWE foreign equivalency report confirming the degree is comparable to a CSWE accredited program. Additional coursework or bridging work may be needed.
Typical Timeline ImpactMinimal added time beyond standard state processing, since degree equivalency is already established through the mutual agreement.The ISWDRES review can add several months. If coursework gaps are identified, additional classes or a bridging program extend the timeline further.Similar to the UK path. The ISWDRES review, possible gap coursework, and state board processing together can add six months to over a year.
Key Takeaway for ApplicantsConfirm your program holds CASWE accreditation, then focus on the specific state board where you plan to practice.Begin the ISWDRES evaluation early, ideally before relocating, so you know whether supplemental coursework will be required.Start the ISWDRES process and gather all transcripts and syllabi well in advance; Australian four year bachelor's programs may map differently than US MSW curricula.

Exams, Language Proficiency, and Documentation Checklist

Before you sit for a licensing exam or submit a state board application, gather every document on this list. Missing even one item can delay your timeline by months.

  1. Correct ASWB Exam Level
    The Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) offers tiered exams matched to the license you are pursuing. If you hold a foreign bachelor's-equivalent degree in social work, you will typically register for the Bachelors-level exam. A master's-equivalent degree corresponds to the Masters-level exam, and applicants seeking clinical licensure (e.g., LCSW) after completing the required post-master's supervised hours sit for the Clinical exam. You must apply through your state board first; ASWB does not accept direct registrations. The exam measures social work knowledge and competency, not English reading ability, so language proficiency is handled separately by the board.
  2. English Proficiency Testing
    There is no single national English-proficiency rule for social work licensure. Requirements vary by state and are often handled on a case-by-case basis during the foreign-education review. Where boards or affiliated programs do set minimums, the most commonly accepted tests are the TOEFL iBT and IELTS Academic. As a reference point, some New York social work programs require a minimum TOEFL iBT score of 80 or an IELTS score of 6.5, and related healthcare professions nationally set thresholds in a similar range (typically TOEFL iBT 77–89 and IELTS 6.0–6.5, depending on credential level). Always confirm directly with the specific state board where you plan to apply, because many boards do not publish a blanket TOEFL or IELTS requirement at all.
  3. English-Instruction Waiver
    Some state boards waive formal English testing if you can document that your social work degree program was taught entirely in English. You will usually need a letter from your university confirming the language of instruction. Check your target state's board rules, because this waiver is not universally available.
  4. Official Transcripts (Translated and Certified)
    Request official, sealed transcripts directly from every institution where you completed social work coursework. If the originals are in a language other than English, you will need certified translations prepared by a qualified translator. Many boards require both the original-language transcript and its English translation.
  5. Course-by-Course Credential Evaluation Report
    Most state boards require a course-by-course evaluation showing that your foreign degree is equivalent to a CSWE-accredited U.S. social work program. CSWE's own International Social Work Degree Recognition and Evaluation Service (ISWDRES) is the most widely accepted evaluator for this purpose, though some states also accept reports from NACES-member agencies. Confirm which evaluator your board will accept before you pay for the report.
  6. Background Check and Supporting Translations
    Nearly every state board requires a criminal background check, typically including fingerprinting. If you have law enforcement records, court documents, or clearance letters issued in another country, you will need certified English translations of those documents as well.
  7. Proof of Legal Work Authorization
    State boards generally require evidence that you are legally authorized to work in the United States. Acceptable documents vary but commonly include an Employment Authorization Document (EAD), a valid work visa, or permanent-resident documentation. Visiting scholars on J-1 visas should verify whether their visa category permits the type of compensated practice that licensure implies.
  8. Prior Licensure or Registration From Home Country
    Several states, North Carolina among them, use a 'substantial equivalency' pathway that requires you to hold a current license, registration, or certification obtained by examination in your home country. If your country does not have a formal licensing exam, contact the board early to discuss alternative evidence of professional standing.

Bridging Programs and Coursework Gaps When Your Degree Isn't Fully Equivalent

One to two semesters is the realistic window most internationally trained applicants should budget for closing coursework gaps flagged during credential review. When CSWE's international review process or a state board finds that a foreign degree covered less clinical methods training, fewer research credits, or a thinner field-education component than a comparable US BSW or MSW, the fix is rarely a full re-enrollment. It's targeted, remedial coursework aimed at the specific deficiency.

What Bridge Coursework Looks Like

Most CSWE-accredited programs and a growing number of standalone bridge tracks let applicants complete only the missing pieces rather than repeat an entire degree. Common gap-fillers include:

  • Human behavior and social environment: Often required if the foreign curriculum leaned heavily clinical without a theory foundation.
  • US-specific policy and law courses: Content on federal and state welfare systems, ethics codes, and mandated-reporting rules rarely appears in non-US curricula.
  • Supervised field practicum hours: Sometimes the largest gap, and the one applicants most often underestimate.

Programs typically deliver these as one or two semester-length terms, occasionally compressed into intensive summer sessions. Applicants juggling work or visa constraints should ask directly whether asynchronous or evening options exist, a core part of choosing the right online MSW program.

Do Foreign Practicum Hours Count?

This is where most confusion happens. Supervised field hours completed abroad are not automatically credited toward US licensure, so international applicants need clear documentation of what counts as clinical hours for MSW licensure. Boards generally require one of two things: verification that the foreign placement was supervised by someone holding an equivalent US clinical license (rare, and hard to document retroactively), or a board-level discretionary review that grants partial credit based on documented hours, supervisor qualifications, and case-type logs.

Some boards will accept none of it and require the full US supervised-hours requirement from scratch, particularly for clinical licensure tiers. Others will credit a portion, shortening but not eliminating the US supervision period.

Confirm Before You Assume

Because practice varies so widely by state, the only reliable move is contacting the target state board directly, in writing, before enrolling in any bridge program or accepting a job offer contingent on licensure timing. Ask specifically whether foreign field hours are eligible for any credit, what documentation the board requires from the original supervisor, and whether that determination happens before or after bridge coursework is complete. Getting this answer early prevents applicants from completing a bridge program only to discover the board still requires a full US supervised-practice period.

Every documented gap in coursework or supervised hours has to be closed with verifiable coursework, exams, or supervised practice, never assumed away or explained in a cover letter.
mastersinsocialworkonline.org editorial guidance

Visa Status, Visiting Scholars, and Work Authorization While Pursuing Licensure

A work visa lets you take a job in the United States; a state license lets you practice social work. You almost always need both, and neither one produces the other. Immigration status does not confer licensure, and passing the ASWB exam does not change your visa. Plan the two tracks in parallel from day one.

OPT, H-1B, and J-1: What Each One Actually Does

Three pathways come up repeatedly for internationally trained social workers, and each fits a different career stage.

  • F-1 OPT: Post-completion Optional Practical Training gives eligible F-1 students up to 12 months of work authorization after graduating from a US program.2 Social work degrees are not STEM-designated, so the 24-month STEM extension is not available.2 OPT is the natural bridge for MSW graduates racking up supervised hours toward LMSW or LCSW while their license application is pending.
  • H-1B specialty occupation: Employers must file a Labor Condition Application with the Department of Labor before petitioning USCIS.3 The role must normally require at least a bachelor's degree in a specific field, which is why MSW-level clinical and school social work careers tend to be a stronger fit than generalist case-management jobs.4 Health care worker certification is required for affected occupations at admission, change of status, or extension.5
  • J-1 exchange visitor: The State Department category covers postdoctoral researchers, visiting scholars, and clinical research trainees.6 It fits university-based research and teaching appointments, but it is an exchange program and does not directly lead to a green card.7 Longer-term employer sponsorship typically shifts to EB-3, which requires a permanent full-time job offer and labor certification.8

Canadian and Mexican citizens have a separate option under TN status through USMCA, which is worth exploring with an immigration attorney.9

Academic and Research Pathways Run Parallel to Direct Practice

Not every internationally trained social worker enters the US through a clinical job. A recent example: Professor Jose Emiliano Ramirez Garcia of the University of Alicante is spending the semester at Northwestern State University as a visiting scholar, collaborating with NSU's Department of Social Work and its Computer Information Systems program on research into suicide ideation and protective factors among college students, as reported by the Natchitoches Times article. That kind of J-1 appointment does not require state licensure, because the work is research and teaching rather than clinical practice.

BSW-Level Sponsorship Is Harder

BSW-level, non-clinical roles face a tougher sponsorship path than MSW clinical positions. Many generalist jobs do not require a specific bachelor's degree, which weakens the H-1B specialty-occupation argument.3 Candidates aiming at BSW-level work often need to apply to MSW programs that accept no experience in the US on F-1 status first, then transition to OPT and H-1B once qualified for clinical roles.

Work authorization and professional licensure are two separate approvals. Securing a valid visa or employment authorization document does not grant permission to practice social work, and holding a social work license does not authorize you to work in the United States. International practitioners must obtain both independently before they can legally practice.
mastersinsocialworkonline.org editorial guidance

What Social Workers Earn in the US

The table below offers a general earnings benchmark for licensed social work practitioners in the United States. These figures come from the most recent Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2025 data) and reflect actual reported wages, not current-year projections. Salaries vary widely by state, employer, specialty, and license level, so treat these numbers as a national baseline rather than a guarantee tied to any single credential pathway.

OccupationTotal Employment25th PercentileMedian Salary75th PercentileMean Salary
Social Workers (All)775,930$49,230$61,780$79,040$67,540
Child, Family, and School Social Workers392,550$48,270$59,550$76,070$64,000
Substance Abuse, Behavioral Disorder, and Mental Health Counselors491,930$47,100$59,350$76,530$64,440
Social and Community Service Managers209,330$64,290$80,390$103,200$88,880
Counselors, Social Workers, and Other Community and Social Service Specialists2,573,560$46,410$58,300$75,960$63,400

Recent News

Recent Articles

Follow us