Social Worker Liability Insurance: What It Covers, What It Costs, and How to Choose

Compare primary vs. supplemental policies, student coverage, and insurers before you buy

By Melissa CarterReviewed by MSWO TeamUpdated October 10, 202622 min read
Professional Liability Insurance for Social Workers: Costs & Options

Points of interest…

  • Standard policies carry $1 million per claim and $3 million aggregate.
  • Most individual policies cost roughly $100 to $600 per year.
  • Employer coverage may exclude licensing board defense, so buy your own.

A single licensing-board complaint can cost a social worker thousands of dollars in legal fees and, in the worst case, a license, even when no client ever files a lawsuit. Defense costs accrue from the first response letter, long before any finding.

Most individual policies run roughly $100 to $600 a year, a small price against that exposure. The harder question is fit: employer coverage often protects the agency first, and student, supplemental and primary policies are not interchangeable. Students and graduates of a BSW program get their own section below, since their options differ from licensed clinicians'.

Social work boards rarely require individual coverage, so the decision usually falls to you.

What Social Work Malpractice Insurance Actually Covers

A standard individual professional liability policy, like the HPSO clinical social worker plan, is distinct from Health Insurance for Social Workers and carries a $1 million per-claim limit and a $3 million annual aggregate1, the common benchmark across social work coverage. That headline number is only part of the picture. The sublimits, triggers, and exclusions tucked underneath decide whether a policy actually protects you when a claim lands.

Three Terms That Mean Almost the Same Thing

Professional liability, malpractice, and errors and omissions (E&O) describe the same category of coverage in social work. Professional liability is the umbrella term. Malpractice is the clinical-sounding version, and E&O is the business-sounding one. In a social work policy they overlap almost completely: all three respond when a client alleges you caused harm through negligence, a breach of the professional duty outlined in Social Work Ethics, or a mistake in your services. Read the declarations page, not the marketing label.

What a Policy Typically Pays For

  • Legal defense: Attorney fees and court costs. On HPSO's plan, covered defense costs are paid outside the liability limits, so they do not erode the money available for a settlement.2
  • Settlements or judgments: Amounts you become legally obligated to pay, up to your per-claim and aggregate limits.
  • Licensing-board complaint defense: Usually a separate sublimit. HPSO sets this at $25,0001; CPH at $35,0003; the NASW-endorsed program also starts at $35,000 with an optional limit up to $100,000.4
  • Privacy and HIPAA-related costs: HPSO includes a $25,000 sublimit toward HIPAA-related fines and defense.1
  • Depositions and defendant expenses: Both HPSO and CPH carry a $10,000 deposition sublimit for proceedings where you are called as a witness, not a defendant.13

Claims-Made, Occurrence, and Tail

Claims-made coverage responds only if the claim is both made and reported while the policy is active, subject to a retroactive date. An occurrence policy covers any incident that happened during the active period, no matter when the claim surfaces. Both HPSO and CPH write their individual social work coverage on an occurrence form23, which is generally the easier form to live with.

Tail coverage, also called extended reporting, matters mainly for claims-made policies. It keeps the reporting window open for incidents that happened during the policy term after you let the policy lapse. Occurrence policies rarely need it for incidents already covered.

Common Exclusions

Policies carve out criminal acts, intentional or fraudulent conduct, and contractual liability you assumed on your own. Sexual misconduct is usually covered only up to a sublimit, $25,000 on HPSO's plan, not the full policy limit.1 Always confirm the exclusions before you assume you are protected.

Realistic Claims and Board Complaints Social Workers Face

You cannot prevent every complaint, but you can control how well you defend one, and that starts with knowing which problems actually reach insurers and boards. A lawsuit is a civil claim for damages. A board complaint is a licensing action that can end in discipline. Your policy may respond differently to each, so read how yours treats both.

What the Published Data Shows

HPSO's latest social-worker material covers closed claims from 2017 to 2024 involving social workers insured through HPSO and CNA. It names four common allegation categories: inappropriate behavior by the clinician, breach of confidentiality, misconduct, and improper performance of treatment or a procedure. It also lists failure to report abuse or neglect, improper termination, and improper documentation. HPSO does not publish a percentage breakdown, and its data reflects only its own insured pool. State boards, including Alabama's, point to similar disciplinary categories: confidentiality violations, recordkeeping failures, boundary violations, and social work dual relationship violations.

Five Anonymized Scenarios

  • Documentation dispute: A former client says services were never provided, and your notes were written weeks late. Lawsuit defense applies if you are sued for improper documentation or treatment. Board complaint defense applies if the client files with your licensing board. NASW Assurance advises keeping contact dates, services provided, diagnostic and treatment codes, progress notes, billing records, signed agreements, and waivers.
  • Confidentiality breach: A case summary goes to the wrong email address, or you discuss a client with a relative without consent. Either can produce a civil claim and a board complaint. The NASW Code of Ethics calls for disclosing only the minimum information necessary and safeguarding written and electronic records.
  • Duty-to-warn or mandated-reporting decision: You delay a report of suspected abuse or skip your state's reporting procedure, both of which are child welfare social work legal risks. HPSO lists failure to report as an allegation category, so expect both a possible claim and board scrutiny. Document your reasoning and any supervisory consultation.
  • Boundary issue or dual relationship: A social worker takes on a former client as a business contact or friend. In 2026, an Iowa social worker was charged over alleged dual-relationship and confidentiality violations, with a hearing set for November. Those are allegations, not findings. Boundary cases often start as board complaints, so confirm your policy covers board defense and how it treats boundary allegations.
  • Telehealth mishap: A client in crisis is in a different state than you expected, and you have no emergency plan or confirmed location. A harm claim and a licensing complaint about practicing across state lines are both possible. Check where your policy covers you.

What to Do Differently

Record the client's location at every telehealth session. Write notes promptly. Put the limits of confidentiality in writing. When a situation feels ambiguous, consult a supervisor and note it.

Did You Know?

A licensing board complaint can trigger legal defense costs even when no malpractice payout ever occurs. Check that your policy covers licensing board proceedings, not just civil lawsuits, because the cost of defending your license often matters more than a claim settlement.

Employer Coverage vs. Your Own Policy: Primary vs. Supplemental

Do you need your own policy if your employer has one? In most cases, yes: employer coverage is written mainly to protect the agency, may not include licensing board defense, can split its limits among several defendants and ends when you leave the job. Supplemental coverage can be enough for a salaried employee with no outside work, but a primary individual policy is the safer choice once you moonlight, volunteer, change jobs or move toward private practice.

FactorEmployer-provided coverageIndividual primary policySupplemental policy
Who is coveredMainly the employer's needs and interests; you are covered only as part of the organizationYou, as an individual practitioner (HPSO's individual policy is built for clinicians who do not own a business, have employees or practice under a DBA)You, as an individual, layered on top of the coverage your employer already provides
What is coveredOften only duties performed for that employer, during work hoursCovered professional services wherever you provide them, on and off the job, subject to policy terms and exclusionsYour personal liability where the employer policy falls short; scope depends on the insurer's terms, so read the policy wording
Board-complaint defenseMany employer plans offer no licensure-defense coverageTypically included; HPSO's individual policy reimburses up to $25,000 in aggregate for legal representation in a covered license-protection incidentCheck before buying; licensure defense is one of the main reasons to add personal coverage
Limits shared with othersLimits may be shared by every defendant named in a claim, shrinking what is left for youSole coverage with no shared limits; HPSO offers up to $1,000,000 per claim and $3,000,000 annual aggregateAdds limits dedicated to you, reducing the risk that a shared employer limit runs out
Side work and volunteeringUsually excludes moonlighting, volunteer work and after-hours advice to friends or neighborsCan cover outside professional work, subject to policy termsDepends on the policy; confirm whether outside work is included before relying on it
Portability after leaving a jobEnds when you leave the employerFollows you when you change employers or locationsTied to your employment situation, so review it whenever you change jobs
When it makes senseAcceptable as your only protection only if you accept the gaps aboveSafer for anyone who moonlights, volunteers, switches jobs, practices via telehealth or plans to open a practiceReasonable for a full-time agency employee with no side work who mainly wants board defense and personal limits

How Much Does Professional Liability Insurance for Social Workers Cost?

For most social worker budgets, an individual professional liability policy costs roughly $100 to $600 per year. That range covers supplemental coverage at the low end and full primary coverage at the high end; private practice or bundled business policies can run higher. The precise figure depends on limits, role, location, and whether a quote is a starting rate or a true average.

What Published Premiums Actually Show

Berxi publishes average annual premiums of about $101 for a supplemental policy and $242 for a primary policy, using $1 million per claim and $3 million annual aggregate limits. Insureon reports a higher social worker average of $579 per year, or $48 per month, based on $1 million per occurrence and $1 million aggregate limits with a $500 deductible. Those are averages, not guaranteed starting prices.

Berxi also shows how quotes move: a full-time California mental health professional was estimated at $169 with $500,000/$1 million limits, while a Massachusetts employed clinical social worker example from July 2025 came in near $106 with $1 million/$3 million limits. HPSO lists clinical social worker limits up to $1 million per claim and $3 million aggregate, and publishes a starting annual rate near $137 but no average annual premium.1

Why Published Figures Differ

  • Primary vs supplemental: Berxi's $101 supplemental average is less than half its $242 primary average.
  • Coverage design: Insureon's $579 social worker average assumes $1M/$1M limits and a $500 deductible, while Berxi uses $1M/$3M in its averages.
  • Bundled business quotes: Insureon's broader small-business average of $1,051 per year ($88 per month) spans many industries and is not a social-worker-specific rate; that market ranges from about $400 to over $7,000 per year.
  • Unpublished rates: HPSO publishes no average annual premium. NASW's liability program was listed as coming soon in 2026, so no current NASW/Assurance rate is available.2

What Moves Your Premium

  • License level and setting: Student, BSW, MSW, and LCSW private practice policies are priced differently because risk exposure changes along MSW career paths.
  • Limits and deductible: $1M/$3M costs more than $1M/$1M; a higher deductible generally lowers the annual premium.
  • Hours and location: Part-time and supplemental work usually costs less than full-time private practice. State and local claim climates can shift quotes.
  • Billing cycle: Annual payment is often cheaper than monthly installments, though monthly billing can ease cash flow.

Typical Annual Premiums by Role: Student, BSW, MSW, LCSW and Private Practice

Each figure below is a published price, so read the Price Basis column first: a "starting" premium is the low end, and your quote will move with location, claims history, experience, hours worked and the limits you choose. Private practitioners and anyone without employer coverage need a primary policy, which runs well above supplemental coverage ($242 vs. $101 on average starting prices) because it answers first for every claim. No current published premium exists for BSW-level or private-practice-specific policies, and NASW is relaunching its endorsed liability program, so those rows are omitted rather than estimated.

RoleTypical Annual PremiumCommon LimitsPrice BasisSource
MSW studentAbout $15 per year$1 million per claim / $5 million aggregateIndividual student coverage, policy year August through July 31. Older NASW student rate; NASW does not currently sell individual student coverage, and a student product is planned for the relaunched programNASW student policy information as reproduced by Albany State University Department of Social Work (2025)
Social worker, supplemental policy (employer coverage pays first)About $101 per year$1 million per claim / $3 million aggregateAverage starting premium only; no published average for a full quoteBerxi; InsuredBetter (2026)
Social worker, primary policy (no employer coverage, including private practice)About $242 per year$1 million per claim / $3 million aggregateAverage starting premium only; varies by location, claims history, coverage amount, experience and hours workedBerxi; InsuredBetter (2026)
LCSWFrom about $100 per year$500,000 / $1 million up to $2 million / $6 million aggregateStarting premium only; varies by policy and coverage selectedBerxi (2026)
LCSW, full-time practitioner (NASW plan)$250 per year$50,000 figure listed for the NASW plan; full limits not detailedFull-time, claims-made plan; NASW premiums vary by policy yearMissouri Society for Clinical Social Work comparison (2026)
LCSW, full-time practitioner (alternative CPH plan)$320 per yearNot reported in sourceFull-time, claims-made planMissouri Society for Clinical Social Work comparison (2026)

Liability Insurance for Social Work Students, Interns and BSW Graduates

Most social work students pay for coverage they may already have, or skip coverage their placement site quietly requires. The question is not whether student liability insurance is cheap (it is), but whether buying a policy duplicates what your school already provides.

Do students need their own policy?

Sometimes yes, often no. Many social work programs carry a blanket liability policy covering students during approved practicum hours. Arizona State University, for example, extends university self-insurance to practicum students from the first day of the semester, as outlined in its Practicum Education Manual 2026. Indiana University covers registered BSW practicum students for 2026-2027, though it notes a site may still require additional coverage and has a process for handling agencies that decline the university certificate.5 Other schools bill a small fee instead: Texas Tech charges roughly $15 for MSW practicum coverage, according to its MSW Student Handbook 2026, and Idaho State assesses a fee each semester, with students completing an employment-based practicum covered by the employer rather than the university.7 Coverage periods are usually tied to the academic calendar; the University of Maryland School of Social Work runs certificates from September 1 through August 31.6

Where an individual policy becomes necessary is when the agency refuses the school's certificate, requires you to be separately named, or requires limits the blanket policy does not meet. Student policies typically carry limits up to $1 million per claim and $3 million aggregate, though you should confirm exact limits, exclusions and whether legal defense sits inside or outside those numbers.3

What student coverage costs

Student rates are the cheapest in the profession. HPSO advertises student coverage starting around $43 per year, with discounts of up to 60 percent for students and new graduates; the actual figure varies by state, program and provider.34 Eligibility generally requires active enrollment in a CSWE-accredited program and an approved, supervised placement, and coverage applies to school-sanctioned activities, not outside work.3 NASW student membership is open to students in CSWE-accredited or candidacy programs,2 but as of 2026 its insurance arm is not selling individual student policies while it rebuilds its product line.1

The BSW graduate gap

Student coverage does not follow you indefinitely. HPSO may extend a student policy to professional duties for about six months after graduation or until the next renewal, whichever comes first.3 After that, you need an individual policy, typically running $100 to $400 annually.4 New BSW graduates in case management, residential or outreach roles often assume the agency covers them; ask directly whether the employer's policy names you, whether it covers board complaints, and whether it follows you after you leave.

Before you buy anything, email your field office and ask what the school provides, what the certificate shows, and whether your assigned site has ever required more.

Best Professional Liability Insurers for Social Workers Compared

There is no single best malpractice insurance for social workers. The right carrier depends on whether you need a primary policy for private practice or a supplemental policy on top of employer coverage, how much licensure-defense protection you want, and whether you prefer claims-made or occurrence coverage. NASW does offer liability insurance through its endorsed program with Assurance, which is open to members and non-members, and NASW members receive a discounted rate; however, the sources reviewed do not publish the discount amount, limits, prices or policy form, so request a quote directly before comparing it with the carriers below. Figures reflect publicly posted information as of October 2026, prices shift with your state, license level, experience and chosen limits, and none of these carriers publish separate student, BSW, MSW or LCSW categories in the sources reviewed, so verify every quote and policy detail with the insurer before you buy.

InsurerTypical LimitsStarting Price (and Basis)EligibilityPolicy TypeNotable Features or Exclusions
Berxi (supplemental policy)$500,000 per claim/$1 million aggregate up to $2 million per claim/$6 million aggregate$101 per year average, based on $1 million per claim/$3 million aggregate limitsProfessional social workers; price depends partly on education and experienceOccurrence or claims-made optionsLegal defense costs, including lawyer fees, court fees and expert-witness costs, are paid outside the liability limits
Berxi (primary policy)$500,000 per claim/$1 million aggregate up to $2 million per claim/$6 million aggregate$242 per year average, based on $1 million per claim/$3 million aggregate limitsProfessional social workers; price depends partly on education and experienceOccurrence or claims-made optionsLegal defense costs, including lawyer fees, court fees and expert-witness costs, are paid outside the liability limits
HPSOUp to $1 million per claim/$3 million annual aggregateAs low as $137 per year (basis not specified)Clinical social workers; separate student or license-level categories not specifiedN/ADefense costs for covered claims do not reduce liability limits; licensure-defense expenses reimbursed up to $25,000 aggregate
CMF GroupUp to $1 million per claim and up to $6 million aggregateN/AClinical social workers; separate student or license-level categories not specifiedExplains both claims-made (claims reported while policy is active) and occurrence (incidents during policy period, even after it ends)Legal fees for covered claims do not reduce limits; disciplinary, licensure and Medicare/Medicaid billing defense up to $35,000 per claim/$100,000 aggregate; sexual-misconduct defense capped at $25,000 per policy period
InsureonExamples include $1 million per occurrence/$1 million aggregate and $1 million per occurrence/$2 million aggregate$88 per month average for professional liability insurance generally, not a social-worker-specific rateSocial workers seeking business insurance; separate student or license-level categories not specifiedClaims-madeLate-reported claims generally require tail coverage after a policy expires or is canceled; treatment of defense costs not stated
Did You Know?

The cheapest quote is often a supplemental or bundled policy that doesn't match your real exposure, such as a student plan used for independent clinical work or a group rate that leaves out telehealth. Match the policy to your role and setting first, then use the checklist below as the tiebreaker between finalists.

State Requirements, Telehealth and Limits by Practice Setting

What U.S. States Require

Most U.S. state social work boards rarely mandate individual malpractice coverage. A 2026 summary of Social Worker Insurance Requirements describes the picture as inconsistent: a few boards ask for proof of coverage for licensure or independent clinical practice, some require disclosure without mandating a policy, and many require nothing. Where a requirement exists, it tends to fall on LCSWs practicing independently or supervising others, not on every licensed social worker. The available sources do not name which states fall into each group, so check your own board's rules directly.

The real pressure usually comes from elsewhere. Employers, agencies, facilities and payer panels often require proof of coverage as a condition of hiring, contracting or credentialing. Requirements vary by payer and state, so read your enrollment paperwork before assuming you are covered.

Canada: Alberta Makes It a Condition of Registration

Alberta is stricter than most U.S. jurisdictions. The Alberta College of Social Workers requires practicing registered social workers to maintain liability insurance, and the Health Professions Act makes it a condition for regulated health professionals. The minimum is $5,000,000 in coverage, and it must include legal defense. The College does not require a particular insurer. The sources do not establish whether other provinces have an equivalent rule.

Telehealth and Multistate Practice

Telehealth coverage is common but not unconditional. HPSO lists telehealth as included, and NASW Assurance Services covers telemental health. Both tie that coverage to accepted practice under state regulations, licensing-board rules and HIPAA, and the same rules shape telehealth social work best practices. Extra premium for telehealth is often none.

Out-of-state clients are the bigger risk. NASW's Telemental Health guidance says you must meet licensing requirements in both the jurisdiction where you are licensed and the one where the client is physically located. Carriers typically treat the client's state as the place of service. Before you see a client across state lines, ask your insurer:

  • Does the policy cover sessions with clients located in other states?
  • Is an endorsement required for interstate telehealth?
  • Are there exclusions tied to your licensure in the client's state?

Limit Guidance by Setting

This is rough guidance, not a legal standard. HPSO's Clinical Social Worker Professional Liability Insurance policy offers $1,000,000 per claim and $3,000,000 annual aggregate, a common benchmark for individual coverage.

  • School and community agency: Your employer's policy is usually primary. A personal policy at the benchmark above fills gaps for off-duty work and licensing-board defense.
  • Hospital: Employer coverage is typical. Confirm that the policy names you as an additional insured and check whether coverage is limited to your job duties.
  • Private practice: You are the policyholder. Start at the benchmark above and raise limits as caseload and risk grow.

Policy wording controls in every setting, so read the exclusions before you rely on any limit.

Did You Know?

Before you assume your policy follows you into virtual sessions, confirm in writing that it covers telehealth and clients located in other states. Insurers apply different coverage rules, so ask specifically rather than relying on a general "telehealth included" statement, since coverage can shift when a client or practitioner crosses a state line.

Checklist: How to Compare Policies Before You Buy

Before you compare premiums, line up the same details on every quote. Two policies with similar prices can protect you very differently. Use this checklist with each insurer and get answers in writing.

  1. Per-claim and aggregate limits
    Confirm the most the policy pays for a single claim and the total it pays in a policy year. Compare quotes at identical limits so the price difference is real.
  2. Deductible or retention
    Ask what you pay out of pocket before coverage starts, and whether that amount applies to licensing-board matters as well as lawsuits.
  3. Defense costs inside or outside limits
    If legal fees are paid inside your limits, every dollar spent on attorneys reduces what is left for a settlement. Coverage that pays defense costs outside the limits gives you more protection.
  4. Claims-made vs. occurrence, and tail terms
    Occurrence policies cover incidents that happen during the policy period, regardless of when the claim is filed. Claims-made policies require active coverage when the claim arrives, so ask what tail coverage costs and whether it is offered free at retirement.
  5. Licensing-board defense sublimit
    Board complaints are a common risk. Ask for the exact sublimit and whether it resets each year.
  6. Additional insureds
    If your agency, group practice, or LLC needs to be named on the policy, confirm that it can be added and what it costs.
  7. Add-ons that match your work
    Ask about cyber liability, general liability for an office, telehealth coverage across state lines, and coverage for clinical supervision of other clinicians.
  8. Exclusions
    Ask directly what is excluded, such as sexual misconduct allegations, criminal acts, or services outside your license scope. Do not buy until you understand these limits.

Recent News

Recent Articles

Follow us